European competitions 1962/63


UEFA European Champions' Cup

First round
First Leg 19 September 1962, Wednesday, 19:00 EET: in Sofia, "Vasil Levski" st.: CDNA (Sofia) - Partizan (Beograd, Yugoslavia) 2:1 (2:1) Second Leg 3 October 1962, Wednesday: in Beograd, "JNA" st.: Partizan (Beograd, Yugoslavia) - CDNA (Sofia) 1:4 (0:1); aggregate score: 2:6
Second round (Round of 16)
First Leg 24 October 1962, Wednesday, 18:30 EET: in Sofia, "Vasil Levski" st.: CDNA (Sofia) - Anderlecht (Anderlecht, Belgium) 2:2 (0:0) Second Leg 14 November 1962, Wednesday, 19:30 local time: in Brussels, "Heysel/Heizel" st.: Anderlecht (Anderlecht, Belgium) - CDNA (Sofia) 2:0 (1:0); aggregate score: 4:2 top

UEFA Cup Winners' Cup

Preliminary round
First Leg 13 September 1962, Thursday, 16:30 local time: in Bucureşti, "23 August" st.: Steaua (Bucureşti, Romania, 1) - Botev (Plovdiv) 3:2 (1:1) Second Leg 19 September 1962, Wednesday: in Plovdiv, "9-ti septemvri" st.: Botev (Plovdiv) - Steaua (Bucureşti, Romania, 1) 5:1 (4:0); aggregate score: 7:4
First round
First Leg 24 October 1962, Wednesday, 20:00 IST: in Dublin, "Dalymount Park" st.: Shamrock Rovers (Dublin, Ireland, 1) - Botev (Plovdiv) 0:4 (0:1) Second Leg 14 November 1962, Wednesday: in Plovdiv: Botev (Plovdiv) - Shamrock Rovers (Dublin, Ireland, 1) 1:0 (1:0); aggregate score: 5:0
Quarter-finals
First Leg 27 February 1963, Wednesday: in Plovdiv, "Hristo Botev" st.: Botev (Plovdiv) - Atlético (Madrid, Spain, 1) 1:1 (1:0) Second Leg 13 March 1963, Wednesday, 20:30 local time: in Madrid, "Stadium Metropolitano": Atlético (Madrid, Spain, 1) - Botev (Plovdiv) 4:0 (2:0); aggregate score: 5:1 top

Balkan Club Cup

Group stage
Group A 21 February 1962, Wednesday: Olympiacos (Piraeus, GRE) - Steagul Roșu (Brașov, ROM) 1:0 (1:0) 11 April 1962, Wednesday: Olympiacos (Piraeus, GRE) - Galatasaray (İstanbul, TUR) 1:0 (0:0) 9 May 1962, Wednesday: Olympiacos (Piraeus, Greece) - Sarajevo (Sarajevo, JUG) 3:2 (3:0) 17 May 1962, Thursday: Sarajevo (Sarajevo, JUG) - Olympiacos (Piraeus, Greece) 3:3 (2:1) 1 August 1962, Wednesday: Steagul Roșu (Brașov, ROM) - Olympiacos (Piraeus, GRE) 6:2 (4:0) 19 September 1962, Wednesday: Sarajevo (Sarajevo, JUG) - Steagul Roșu (Brașov, ROM) 2:0 (1:0) 24 October 1962, Wednesday: Galatasaray (İstanbul, TUR) - Olympiacos (Piraeus, GRE) 1:1 (0:1) 4 November 1962, Sunday: Steagul Roșu (Brașov, ROM) - Sarajevo (Sarajevo, JUG) 3:1 (2:1) Galatasaray (İstanbul, TUR) - Steagul Roșu (Brașov, ROM) annulled Steagul Roșu (Brașov, ROM) - Galatasaray (İstanbul, TUR) annulled Galatasaray (İstanbul, TUR) - Sarajevo (Sarajevo, JUG) annulled Sarajevo (Sarajevo, JUG) - Galatasaray (İstanbul, TUR) annulled M W D L GD P
1. Olympiacos (Piraeus, Greece) 6 3 2 1 11:12 8 Final - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 2. Steagul Roșu (Brașov, Romania) 4 2 0 2 9:6 4 3. Sarajevo (Sarajevo, Yugoslavia) 4 1 1 2 8:9 3 4. Galatasaray (İstanbul, Turkey) 2 0 1 1 1:2 1 [*] Removed
Notes - Galatasaray (İstanbul) withdraws after playing 2 of its 6 matches. It is possible that their results are annulled. Group B 24 December 1961, Sunday: Dinamo (Tirana, Albania) - Dinamo (București, Romania) 1:1 (1:0) 11 March 1962, Sunday: Dinamo (București, Romania) - Dinamo (Tirana, Albania) 2:3 (1:3) 22 March 1962, Thursday: Levski (Sofia) - Dinamo (Tirana, Albania) 2:2 (2:1) 25 March 1962, Sunday: Fenerbahçe (İstanbul, TUR) - Dinamo (Tirana, Albania) 1:0 (0:0) 21 June 1962, Thursday: Dinamo (Tirana, Albania) - Levski (Sofia) 0:0 12 August 1962, Sunday: Dinamo (București, Romania) - Levski (Sofia) 2:4 (2:1) 12 September 1962, Wednesday, 18:00 EET: in Sofia, "Vasil Levski" st.: Levski (Sofia) - Dinamo (București, Romania) 1:1 (1:1) 20 September 1962, Thursday: Fenerbahçe (İstanbul, TUR) - Dinamo (București, Romania) 2:4 (0:2) 14 November 1962, Wednesday: in İstanbul, "Mithat Paşa" st.: Fenerbahçe (İstanbul, Turkey) - Levski (Sofia) 0:1 (0:0) 23 November 1962, Friday: Dinamo (Tirana, Albania) - Fenerbahçe (İstanbul, TUR) 3:2 (2:1) 6 March 1963, Wednesday: Levski (Sofia) - Fenerbahçe (İstanbul, Turkey) 3:0 awd * * - the visitors inform beforehand that they won't show up. 13 March 1963, Wednesday: Dinamo (București, Romania) - Fenerbahçe (İstanbul, TUR) 3:0 awd * * - the visitors inform beforehand that they won't show up. M W D L GD P
1. Levski (Sofia) 6 3 3 0 11:5 9 Final - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 2. Dinamo (Tirana, Albania) 6 2 3 1 9:8 7 3. Dinamo (București, Romania) 6 2 2 2 13:11 6 4. Fenerbahçe (İstanbul, Turkey) 6 1 0 5 5:14 2
Final
3 April 1963, Wednesday: Olympiacos (Piraeus, Greece) - Levski (Sofia) 1:0 (1:0) 8 May 1963, Wednesday, 18:15 EET: in Sofia, "Vasil Levski" st.: Levski (Sofia) - Olympiacos (Piraeus, Greece) 1:0 (1:0) 18 September 1963, Wednesday: in İstanbul, Turkey, "Mithat Paşa" st.: Olympiacos (Piraeus, Greece) - Levski (Sofia) 1:0 (0:0) top